In 1880 the campus of Geneva College, originally founded in Northwood, Ohio, in 1848, moved to an area north of Beaver Falls in Beaver County, Pennsylvania. A small neighborhood sprung up around the campus and officially became the borough of College Hill in 1892. At the same time the two-room College Hill School, for the local students, was built at 33rd Street and 4th Avenue next to the campus. Periodic additions were made to the school in 1895, 1902, and 1909, that added a total of six additional rooms to the building. The building had a unique fire escape plan, as students on the second floor would slide down one of two enclosed metal tubes to reach safety.
The older students of College Hill attended high school in neighboring Beaver Falls on a tuition basis. College Hill officials added a high school curriculum in 1908, but this initiative was abandoned in 1913 and the students went back to Beaver Falls High School. In the early 1920’s the students briefly attended high school in New Brighton during a tuition dispute, but this was solved before too long. Other schools were opened in College Hill in 1915 (38th Street & College Ave) and 1925 (5th Avenue & 37th Street) to accommodate the growing student population of the area.
In January 1930 the borough of College Hill was absorbed and became the northern portion of the modern city of Beaver Falls. College Hill area schools were absorbed into the Beaver Falls school district and the old College Hill School at 33rd Street remained in operation until mid-1950. At that time it was shut down for good and razed a few years later. The former site of the school is now located near McCartney Library on the campus of Geneva College.